The Council is the supreme decision-making body of EUMETSAT to which the Director-General reports, as the Chief Executive Officer.

The Council is composed of high level representatives from the Member States which jointly fund EUMETSAT programmes and activities. Financial contributions of Member States to mandatory programmes, like Meteosat or the EUMETSAT Polar System, are proportional to the Gross National Income (GNI) of the individual Member States.

The Director-General is the Chief Executive Officer and legal representative of EUMETSAT, reporting to the Council. He is responsible for the implementation of all Council decisions and for the execution of all tasks and commitments of the organisation.

The Council adopts the programmes, decides on the accession of new members, and approves the EUMETSAT budgets, based on votes by the Member States. Each Member State has one vote.

Depending on their nature and importance, decisions are made by unanimous vote, by a qualified majority or by a simple majority. Major decisions have to be taken unanimously or with a majority representing at least two thirds of the financial contributions and one half of the Member States.

The Council usually meets twice a year (in spring and autumn) for ordinary sessions and can also meet in extraordinary session to discuss and decide on special issues.

The decisions of Council are prepared by advisory bodies:

  • The Policy Advisory Committee (PAC)

  • The Scientific and Technical Group (STG)

  • The Administrative and Finance Group (AFG)

  • The Data Policy Group (DPG)

The Chairs of these bodies attend the Council meetings.

Council Leaders

Council Leaders
Person title Member State Mandate
Prof. G. van der Steenhoven Chairperson Netherlands 1.9.2018 - 31.8.2020
Mr. E Moran Vice-Chairperson Ireland 1.9.2018 - 31.8.2020

Policy advisory committee (PAC)

 The Policy Advisory Committee (PAC) advises Council on all matters that affect EUMETSAT's policy and strategy. 

PAC Leaders
Person title Member State Mandate
Mr. F. Fontana Chairperson Switzerland 1.9.2019-31.8.2021
Mr. P. Rottiers Vice-Chairperson Belgium 1.9.2019-31.8.2021

Scientific and Technical Group (STG)

The Scientific & Technical Group (STG) advises the Council on all scientific and technical aspects.

The STG is responsible for assessing the implications of any changes to mission objectives and for ensuring that requirements of the meteorological services of the Member States are taken into account. In addition, the STG coordinates the relations with EUMETSAT’s users and recommends to Council any action related to the international coordination of programmes.

Furthermore the STG reviews the EUMETSAT satellite system performance and studies future programmes and requirements. Members of the STG are representatives of interested national delegations to the Council (one per Member State) which may be assisted by advisers. The STG may also invite specialists for certain areas of its mandate. 

STG Leaders
Person title Member State Mandate
Mr. Marcelino Manso Rejón Chairperson Spain 1.9.2019-31.8.2021
Dr. Isabel Trigo Vice-Chairperson Portugal 1.9.2019-31.8.2021

STG Science working group (STG-SWG)

The STG-SWG provides scientific guidance and assessment of activities relevant to the definition and derivation of new products from EUMETSAT’s operational missions, and to the definition of future mission requirements. 

STG-SWG Leaders
Person title Member State Mandate
Mr. D. Biron Chairperson Italy 1.3.2019-28.2.2021
Mr. R. Hollmann Vice-Chairperson Germany 1.3.2019-28.2.2021

STG Operations working group (STG-OWG)

The STG Operations Working Group (STG-OWG) provides guidance on issues concerning the usage of EUMETSAT’s operational space and ground systems, covering all EUMETSAT operational missions. 

Person title Member State Mandate
Mr. A. Dybbroe Chairperson Sweden 1.9.2019-31.8.2021
Mr. J. Asmus Vice-Chairperson Germany 1.9.2019-31.8.2021

Administrative and finance group (AFG)

The AFG advises Council on all administrative and financial aspects , including budgets, audits, procurements and contracts, personnel and legal matters. 

AFG Leaders
Person title Member State Mandate
Mr. S. Rasmussen Chairperson Norway 1.9.2018-31.8.2020
Mr. S. Green Vice-Chairperson UK 1.9.2018-31.8.2020

Data policy group (DPG)

The Data Policy Group (DPG) advises Council on all aspects of the EUMETSAT Data Policy. 

DPG Leaders
Person title Member State Mandate
Mr. S. E. Olufsen Chairperson Denmark 1.11.2018-31.8.2020
Mr. A. Longden Vice-Chairperson United Kingdom 10.4.2018-31.8.2020

Also available in:  English - Français - Deutsch

By continuing to use this website, you are giving consent for EUMETSAT to store certain information about you. To learn more about what information EUMETSAT collects and how it is used, please view our Terms of Use page.