EUMETSAT and China National Space Administration sign framework agreement

Today, Alain Ratier, Director-General of EUMETSAT and Wu Yanhua, Vice Administrator of the China National Space Administration (CNSA) signed an agreement that provides the policy framework for the continuation and expansion of EUMETSAT’s cooperation with China on monitoring the atmosphere, oceans and climate from space.

Wednesday, 15 March 2017

Thumbnail - Press Release - 20170317 - CMA Cooperation Extension

The policy framework established by this agreement will facilitate the implementation and extensions of the agreements already in force with the China Meteorological Administration (CMA) and the National Ocean Satellite Application Centre (NSOAS).

The cooperation encompasses data exchange, scientific cooperation and coordination of respective observation systems in the context of the World Meteorological Organization, the Global Architecture for monitoring climate from space, the Coordination Group for Meteorological Satellites and the Committee for Earth Observation Satellites.

It will capitalise on the long term, multi-satellite programmes approved by China and the EUMETSAT Member States.

EUMETSAT’s Director-General, Alain Ratier, said. “Our cooperation with China started almost 20 years ago with CMA and was extended to NSOAS in 2012. It has already brought substantial mutual benefits through data exchange and coordination of our respective satellite systems. The agreement we sign today provides the policy framework and encouragement to expand further the cooperation with our Chinese partners, taking advantage of the more capable satellites that both sides will deploy.“


The European Organisation for the Exploitation of Meteorological Satellites is an intergovernmental organisation based in Darmstadt, Germany, currently with 30 Member States (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey and the United Kingdom) and one Cooperating State (Serbia).

EUMETSAT operates the geostationary satellites Meteosat -9, -10 and -11 over Europe and Africa, and Meteosat-7/-8 over the Indian Ocean.

EUMETSAT operates two Metop polar-orbiting satellites as part of the Initial Joint Polar System (IJPS) shared with the US National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA).

EUMETSAT is also a partner in the cooperative high precision ocean altimetry Jason missions involving Europe and the United States (Jason-2, Jason-3 and Jason-CS/Sentinel-6).

The data and products from EUMETSAT’s satellites are vital to weather forecasting and make a significant contribution to the monitoring of environment and climate change.

The European Union has entrusted EUMETSAT with exploiting the four Sentinel missions of the Copernicus space component dedicated to the monitoring of atmosphere, ocean and climate on its behalf. EUMETSAT will carry out these tasks in cooperation with ESA.

EUMETSAT has established cooperation with operators of Earth Observation satellites from Europe and China, India, Japan, Russia and the United States.

Media Relations EUMETSAT

Tel: +49 6151 807 7320

Also available in:  English - Français - Deutsch

We use essential cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. To analyse website traffic we also use third-party performance cookies. If you are ok with the use of essential as well as non-essential cookies, please select Accept & Continue. Instructions on how to prevent the use of non-essential cookies are available under our Terms Of Use, or simply select Decline Cookies.