EUMETSAT approves funding for storage of recurrent MTG satellites, new cooperation agreements with ESA and China and elects new Chairman

Meeting in Oslo, Norway, this week, the EUMETSAT Council approved funding for industrial activities required by EUMETSAT for the long term storage of the four Meteosat Third Generation (MTG) recurrent satellites after their acceptance at the Pre-Storage Reviews, their de-storage, the preparation and execution of their launch campaigns and support to in orbit commissioning.

Friday, 06 July 2018

The EUMETSAT-funded activities will be contracted through ESA, as additional tasks to the contract already covering the development of the two prototype satellites (MTG-I1 and MTG-S1) and the procurement of the four recurrent units on behalf of EUMETSAT.

Preparing for the role of EUMETSAT in the next phase of the EU Copernicus Programme, the Council approved an arrangement for continued cooperation with the European Space Agency for the deployment of the Sentinel-3C and -3D satellites, expected to replace Sentinel-3A and -3B in the period 2023 - 2027.

A new five-year agreement with the China Meteorological Administration was also approved to enable the continuation of cooperation on exchange and redistribution of satellite data, scientific developments and coordinated planning of the deployment of next generation satellite systems, in the framework of the World Meteorological Organisation.

The Council elected Professor Gerard van der Steenhoven, the Director of the Royal Dutch Meteorological Institute, as its Chairman and Eoin Moran, the Director of Met Éireann, the Irish Meteorological service, as its Vice-Chairman.

Prof. van der Steenhoven will become the Council Chairman on 1 September 2018 for a first two-year term, taking over from Professor Anton Eliassen, of Norway, who has chaired the Council since July 2014, a period during which the Council approved the EPS-SG Programme, EUMETSAT’s contribution to the Copernicus programme and the Jason-CS programme.


The European Organisation for the Exploitation of Meteorological Satellites is an intergovernmental organisation based in Darmstadt, Germany, currently with 30 Member States (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey and the United Kingdom).

EUMETSAT operates the geostationary satellites Meteosat -9, -10 and -11 over Europe and Africa, and Meteosat-8 over the Indian Ocean.

EUMETSAT operates two Metop polar-orbiting satellites as part of the Initial Joint Polar System (IJPS) shared with the US National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA).

EUMETSAT is also a partner in the cooperative sea level monitoring Jason missions (Jason-2, Jason-3 and Jason-CS/Sentinel-6) involving Europe and the United States.

The data and products from EUMETSAT’s satellites are vital to weather forecasting and make a significant contribution to the monitoring of environment and climate change.

The European Union has entrusted EUMETSAT with exploiting the four Sentinel missions of the Copernicus space component dedicated to the monitoring of atmosphere, ocean and climate on its behalf. EUMETSAT carries out these tasks in cooperation with ESA and already exploits the Sentinel-3 marine mission.

EUMETSAT has established cooperation with operators of Earth Observation satellites from Europe and China, India, Japan, Russia, South Korea and the United States.

Media Relations EUMETSAT

Tel: +49 6151 807 7320

Also available in:  English - Français - Deutsch

We use essential cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. To analyse website traffic we also use third-party performance cookies. If you are ok with the use of essential as well as non-essential cookies, please select Accept & Continue. Instructions on how to prevent the use of non-essential cookies are available under our Terms Of Use, or simply select Decline Cookies.